• Team Acacia

Campus Pride Announces Partnership with PINK by Victoria's Secret

LGBTQ Youth-Focused Organization Celebrates Its 20th Year With Pride


CHARLOTTE, N.C. -- Campus Pride, the national nonprofit dedicated to building future leaders and creating safer spaces for LGBTQ people on college campuses, today announces a host of activities and events in celebration of Pride Month 2021 and a new corporate partnership with PINK by Victoria’s Secret.


“PINK is a perfect partner for Campus Pride,” says Shane Windmeyer, Campus Pride Executive Director. “Their commitment to organizations that are giving back to their communities, their dedication, and social responsibility to issues of diversity and inclusion, are helping to make a real difference and positive impact in the lives of LGBTQ young people.”


PINK by Victoria’s Secret’s partnership includes a $100,000 contribution to Campus Pride, and Campus Pride messaging in their customer-facing communications and window displays in stores across the country. Campus Pride will also offer its resources to PINK’s network of campus representatives, elevating their understanding of the issues facing LGBTQ people on their campuses and beyond.


Campus Pride’s Pride 2021 activities continue beyond the launch of the PINK by Victoria’s Secret partnership. As the organization celebrates its 20th anniversary, its leadership set an ambitious goal to honor, inform, and inspire more people through more avenues than any prior Pride Month campaign.


“The first Pride was a riot,” says Tom Elliott, Campus Pride Board Chair. “Over the years, the annual civil rights march has grown into an event during which we focus on the continuing fight for LGBTQ civil rights while celebrating how far our community has come. This year, we’re proud to continue that tradition with a mix of celebration, education, and activism.”

Campus Pride’s Pride Month 2021 events include:

  • Lavender Graduation. In partnership with PFLAG National, Campus Pride hosts a virtual commencement ceremony honoring the LGBTQ Class of 2021. The program, which is free to attend, will be live-streamed at www.campuspride.org/2021 and on Campus Pride’s Facebook feed and will recognize 18 schools across the country. Saturday, June 5, 2021, at 12 p.m. Pacific / 3 p.m. Eastern

  • Safe Space Online Training. Campus Pride Safe Space training is a nationally recognized program that teaches key moments in the LGBTQ civil rights movement, explains terminologies, and gives individuals and organizations the tools to explore and identify ways to be an advocate and ally for LGBTQ people. Learn more and register here. Friday, June 11, 2021, at 10 a.m. Pacific / 1 p.m. Eastern

  • Stop the Hate Online Training. Stop the Hate is an educational initiative of Campus Pride, supporting colleges and universities in their efforts to combat hate on campus and foster the development of community. Learn more and register here. Wednesday, June 16, 2021, at 10 a.m. Pacific / 1 p.m. Eastern

  • Juneteenth. Join Black queer and trans activists as they share reflections on Juneteenth and its relevance to Black and queer liberation on college campuses and beyond. This free event will be live-streamed via Campus Pride Instagram. Saturday, June 19, 2021, at 3 p.m. Pacific / 6 p.m. Eastern

  • Stonewall Riots Anniversary Event. Queer young adult activists come together to speak about the continuing work towards intersectional justice on the 52nd anniversary of the Stonewall Riots. This free event will be live-streamed via Campus Pride Instagram. Monday, June 28, 2021, at 5 p.m. Pacific / 8 p.m. Eastern

  • Give OUT Day Virtual Pride Celebration.Throughout June, Campus Pride will be taking part in the annual Give OUT Day fundraising competition, under which the nonprofit that receives the highest number of individual donations of $10 or more wins a $10,000 prize. To cap off Pride Month and make one final push for the grand prize, Campus Pride teams up with Pride Palace for a virtual Pride celebration. Donations can be made at campuspride.org/donate. Wednesday, June 30, 2021, at 4 p.m. Pacific / 7 p.m. Eastern

  • Social Justice Mini-Grants for Activism. As part of our 20th anniversary, Campus Pride has launched a platform to award student activists mini-grants of up to $600 to help them in their work on campuses across the country. Applications are open at campuspride.org/ActNow, and Campus Pride will be announcing inaugural recipients throughout June.

# # #

1 view0 comments